Rip's Domain

My Ways to Save Money – idea from Peter

Posted in Money by rip747 on October 18, 2007

I was just reading Peter J Farrell’s post on his money saving ways and thought that I would chime in with some of my own:

1) I’ve mentioned this before to people, but can’t mention it enough: if you own any type of real estate property, you owe it to yourself to check out the Money Merge Account from United First Financial. I’ve been on the program for the last six months and I’m on track of paying my mortgage and all of my debt off in 6.3 years instead of 27 years! This program not only works with your primary residence, but also investment properties second homes, credit card debt and any other type of debt (like student loans). Do yourself the favor and take the 3 minutes to view their presentation.

2) Peter mentioned the American Express Blue Cash card in his post. I personally have both the Blue Cash card and the One card from American Express. I will tell you this that the One card offers a better rate, interest protection and not to mention the fact that they put 1% of the money you spend into a 5% savings account. To compare the two in terms of money you earn yearly with them: I received about $80 cash back last year from my Blue Card and currently my One card has $105 in the saving account after only using it for 6 months. If I were you out there, I would definitely sign up from the One card and start using it. Cash back is a one time deal, but a savings account earns interest! Plus, when you stop to think about, the rate on the saving account is on par with most CDs out there.

3) Coupons and rebates are great. One of the ones that I use the most is RetailMeNot.com. The best thing about it is you can search by domain name. Check them out!

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] came across this post – My Ways to Save Money – idea from Peter – and thought it was worth sharing. I hope you find it interesting too and take the time to read […]

  2. Rob Wilkerson said, on October 18, 2007 at 12:39 pm

    I’ll be looking into the Money Merge Account tonight (it sounds “too good to be true” so I need to do some due diligence), but I have a question about the AmEx cards.

    I’ve had an AmEx card in the past and ended up getting rid of it because so many merchants (particularly the small ones) didn’t take it. I live in Baltimore city and shop locally whenever possible. Do you have any trouble with merchants not accepting AmEx?

  3. rip747 said, on October 18, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    @rob,

    Trust me when I tell you the money merge account is awesome. I wouldn’t say so if I wasn’t using it myself.

    As for the AmEx, I’ve had some merchants not take it, but a majority of that are small merchants. Most large merchants take it. That’s why I usually have a VISA card for such an occasion.

  4. Coupon Heaven said, on October 19, 2007 at 9:18 am

    I love my American Express Blue Card, and will check out the One card as well. My Blue Card has no annual fee, and I see that the One Card annual fee is $35 (waived the first year). Is it worth it?

    I also love online coupons. They aren’t always available, but it’s worth it to do a free coupoon search.

  5. MoneyMergeSeeker said, on December 14, 2007 at 6:01 pm

    hey ive been considering doing a money merge account but im not sure which company to go with… UFF seems like it might be a prettty good company.

  6. rip747 said, on December 14, 2007 at 8:14 pm

    @MoneyMergeSeeker

    UFF has a very easy to learn and follow web based application for the MMA. I would definitely consider taking a tour of their product before making a decision.

  7. Joel @ money saving said, on February 11, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    i realize im a while late in posting to this but i would also point out to the parents out there that citibank has a upromise credit card.

    we have them and you can have other members of the family like grandparents for example link their spending to your childs account.

    its not big money but over time its a nice chunk of cash to give your kids for college expenses.

    good stuff
    joel


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

