Rip's Domain

Git-Svn: Will it ever work again?

Posted in Git by rip747 on June 11, 2009

UPDATE: I have created a custom cygwin repository that you can run setup against to get the last working version (1.5.6-1). You can download it from the box.net widget to the right or by clicking here.

Well it seems that I’ve completed hosed myself good. At work I updated my cygwin install and it installed the latest git and subversion packages. Long story short, this completely broke git-svn to the point where I can’t use it. What sucks is that I use git-svn to contribute to CFWheels which I’m using right now to rewrite some websites. It’s nice to be able to find a bug and fix it then and there and not have to wait until I get home.

Luckily I raced home tonight and saw that my cygwin installation on my home computer wasn’t upgraded, so that means I’m still able to contribute.

What really pissed me off is that this has been broken since version 1.5.6-1 and for over 4 months and hasn’t been fixed yet. I tried to install msysgit at work to see if that would work for me, but it’s a no go since their subversion packages are at 1.4 and GoogleCode is on 1.5.

Even sadder is that msysgit doesn’t seem to want to upgrade their subversion packages anytime soon as the maintainer himself told me here.

With the on going cygwin and msysgit problems, will git-svn ever get fixed?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] CFWheels SVN repo (please migrate to github) using git and github. Last week my cygwin installation took a dive and in the midst of trying to fix it, I screwed up my local git repo used to do this mirror […]

  2. Trev said, on September 2, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    Try compiling your own version. I use git-svn at work and I just build from next. If you’re paranoid, you can build from master or the latest tag. I’ve long given up on the cygwin build of git. You still need git to be installed to get the git repo though. after the initial clone.. you can nuke it.

    $ cd ~/
    $ git clone git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/git/git.git
    $ cd git
    $ git reset –hard origin/next
    $ make configure
    $ ./configure –prefix=/usr
    $ make; make install; make quick-install-man


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

