Rip's Domain

CFECLIPSE: Grown to love.

Posted in ColdFusion by rip747 on July 11, 2006

I’m really not the type of person to jump on a bandwagon just because something is released. About a month ago I heard that the CFECLIPSE beta was available for download and I avoided it like the plague. Now that I have a new computer and need a CFML editor, I figured that it would be a good time to see if it was up the par with CFSTUDIO. Yes, believe it or not, I still used CFSTUDIO for all my CFML development.

The last time I tried out the product, I couldn’t take using it for than 2 minutes at a time before I fired up CFSTUDIO.

My biggest problems with the previous releases has been really basic stuff that I have come to embrace. Let’s take for instance word-wrapping. Prior to this release, it wasn’t there. How could something as simple as word-wrapping not be in CFECLIPSE. To that fact, I actually went to the ECLIPSE bug list and this has been a requested feature since 2004! Better yet the ECLIPSE team is still deciding on whether to include it in the next release.

The toolbars are another thing that I liked about CFSTUDIO. I loved to click a button and having code appear, it makes me feel special. CFECLIPSE has keyboard shortcuts and snippets, but it really isn’t the same.

Tag editors, enough said there. I’m not the best at remembering every little attribute of a tag, so this baby is something that I must have. Yeah I know CFECLIPSE has tag and function insight, but it was buggy at best when I tried it last.

With all that said, let me grab a fork and ketschup so I may eat my words with flavor. This latest beta is the one baby.

I really have to commend the team and especially Mark Drew, for doing such a wonderful job with this program. Every single gripe I mentioned before has been taken care of. Word-wrapping, toolbars, tag editors and so much more. Everything has worked flawlessly for me and I haven’t had a need to open up CFSTUDIO all day. With the added bonus of just being able to have some basic version history that is built into ECLIPSE itself, this the product to use for CFML development now.

In case you haven’t guessed, I will be using CFECLIPSE from now on for all my CFML stuff. As I learn little things here and there, I will post them if no one else has beaten me to it.

Again I want to thank Mark Drew and the CFECLIPSE team.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mark Drew said, on October 19, 2006 at 10:15 am

    Hey Tony! Thanks for the great review! And posted on my birthday too! Excellente! I was in a plane at the time so didnt get a chance to read it… There will be a new RC with a bunch more bugs fixed and some new (not copying Homesite) features.

    Cant say when tho!

  2. rip747 said, on October 19, 2006 at 6:23 pm

    @Mark,

    Thanks Mark. I can’t wait for the release. Can you do me one small favor thought, please fix the donate link on the Cfeclipse site. I went to make a donation and it doesn’t work😛

    Thanks again for all your hard work on CFeclipse once again. It’s buy far the best IDE out there for CF development.

  3. History of the US said, on May 23, 2007 at 7:54 pm

    Looking at your site makes me wish I had started one like it….maybe I will now!


Leave a Reply

