Rip's Domain

CFEclipse: Things I miss

Posted in ColdFusion by rip747 on July 19, 2006

OK, I know I’m suppose to be blogging about BannerBoxes, but I’m really want those posts to be good and informative, so I’m taking my time with them. In the lapse I though that I would share somethings that I’m missing while using CFEclipse.

As I stated previously, I’ve moved to CFEclipse for all my CFML development now. During this time I’m growing really fond of the features that it offers (snips, toolbars, integration with subversion is the biggest plus), but there are still things that I miss from CFStudio:

Split window: I never used this feature then one day i’m editing a huge CFC and got tired of scrolling up and down the windows to see what the instance variables were. I actually clicked on the button for split window by accident and fell over because I never noticed it before (note: I’m one of those people that don’t explore software. I know how to use it for what I need to do and that’s about it.)

CFML Reference: Yeah, yeah I know there is a dictionary view and I do use it. The thing is that it has limited information at best in there and to get any real information you have to right click and choose “View online help”. The thing that really annoys me though is the layout. Why in the world did they put the windows on top of each other instead of side by side? If anyone knows how to correct this, TELL ME!!!

Drive Resource Window: Again, yes I know that there is a File Explorer View, but you can only view and open files in it and that’s it. In CFStudio it was like have Windows Explore built right in. You can copy, delete, move and rename files right there. It was great for editing a file on my test server real quick and moving it over to the production server. Yeah, yeah, I know that you have these functionalities in the Navigator View, but you can only copy and move files between projects, not actual drives.

Oh… can someone tell me why I can’t make the Preview part of the Snip Tree View taller? It’s cool and all for shorter snips, but I would love to see all of the longer snips that I have.

So all and all again, I’m loving CFEclipse. Still a few features and bugs here and there, but CFStudio had them also. I’m sure that the CFEclipse team will fix these in the upcoming releases, so I’ll just hold out until then.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lola Lee Beno said, on July 19, 2006 at 11:54 am

    I trust that you’ve filed requests in the bug tracker at CFEclipse site . . .

  2. rip747 said, on July 19, 2006 at 12:36 pm

    @Lola

    Actually these are feature requests that are well known. Also most of the bugs that I’ve come across with CFEclipse are already in the bug tracker.

  3. Adam Cameron said, on July 19, 2006 at 1:21 pm

    Eclipse DOES do “Split WIndow” now. Right click on the file you’re editing, and go New Editor. This opens the same file a second time.

    Then drag one of the tabs along one of the other edges of the edit window, and it will shift the edit window you’re dragging to that part of the screen, leaving the others where they are.


    Adam

  4. David said, on July 19, 2006 at 3:15 pm

    If you install the cf extensions for flex the full cf documentation is added to the help menu in eclipse.

  5. rip747 said, on July 19, 2006 at 3:23 pm

    @Adam

    I’m actually doing this right now and it is a great workaround. Thanks big time.

    @David

    Where can I get these extensions? Can you provide a link?

  6. Jeff said, on July 19, 2006 at 6:03 pm

    Amen!

    I’m just getting going in CFEclipse and while I love many things about it, It’s like trying to quit smoking…and I keep sneaking out back ever couple hours to do something in CFStudio.

    Anyway, my chief complaint is the lack of ability to assign hotkey combinations to snippets. That’s making for a very painful transition.

  7. wulimaster said, on July 19, 2006 at 6:48 pm

    You get the extensions by downloading the flex builder 2 trial. You can begin the install (to let it extract the files) and then just grab the CF_FB_Extensions.zip from the extracted files folder. You can then just cancel the install….although flex builder is cool, so if you have not tried it, go ahead and install.

  8. rip747 said, on July 19, 2006 at 6:48 pm

    @Jeff

    Praise the LORD, good brother!

    Anywho, now that we got the gosspel out of the way🙂

    Acutally I like the way the team did snippets with “hot text”. Personally I think it’s more intuative and easier to remember then all the different key combos. Right now there are some bugs with it in the latest BETA but it’s already been logged and assigned. So keep trying to get that CFStudio monkey off you back like I am. I need a cigarette🙂

  9. David said, on July 20, 2006 at 8:18 am

    Here is a link to just the cf extensions.
    http://www.cfreport.org/downloads/CF_FB_Extensions.zip

  10. Andy Jarrett said, on July 28, 2006 at 10:28 am

    You can also extract the extentions from latest Flex yourselve as the flex.exe is just a zip file really.

    Bad plug I know but i did write up instructions at http://www.andyjarrett.co.uk/andy/blog/index.cfm/2006/7/4/Getting-CF-Flex-components-out-of-the-Flexexe


Leave a Reply

