Rip's Domain

CF and DTS. Let MSSQL do it’s job.

Posted in ColdFusion, SQL by rip747 on July 27, 2006

I commented on a recent post about using CF to call DTS packages to execute the package and then use CF to FTP the file to a remote server. I commented that I didn’t see the reason for using CF to do this since this could all be done from within DTS itself.

I know I’ve said this before, but I’ll say it again, use all the tools available to you to get the job done. Just because you can do something in CF, doesn’t mean you should. CF is not a cure all. Using DTS and SQL Jobs to perform the task the author was doing is infinatly faster than anything CF could do.

Remember that there are many resources out there when working with MSSQL and DTS. Anything that you are trying to do has already been done, trust me on this. Some of the resources that I use:

SQLTEAM
SQLDTS
Google Groups
MSDN

I don’t want this post to sound like I’m bashing the author. All I’m trying to get across is that anything that you’re trying to do, there are resources on the internet that explain how to do it.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tony Schreiber said, on July 27, 2006 at 12:02 pm

    Not a comment, just a request to contact me. Good tips here though.😉


Leave a Reply

