Rip's Domain

My CF8 Wishlist: Nothing. Fix what’s broken.

Posted in ColdFusion by rip747 on August 1, 2006

I’ve been reading these all week, so I might as well be the one to say it:

I don’t want any enhancements in CF8, in fact I don’t want a CF8. What I want is a CF7.5!

What I want Adobe to do is to fix the version that we have now. I don’t need interfaces or static methods in CFCs. I don’t want CFIMAGE (Alagad’s image component works great), enhancements to CFSCHEDULE, CFDOCUMENT enhancements, IMAP, SMTP, NNTP, units test or anything else for that matter.

What I want is for CF to be STABLE, FAST and RELIABLE. I currently maintain many web sites with a hosting company (I WILL NOT MENTION THEIR NAME) whose servers constantly go down with JRUN errors. This isn’t annoying, it’s embrassing. I can’t tell you how many times I’m unveiling a web site to a client and I get a JRUN connection error. My heart sinks and my pride dies. Don’t say that it’s because the web site is on a shared host. There are only 8 other sites on the server with me and this stupid thing can’t handle it. JRUN needs to be fixed period.

In my opinion CF is the best language. I’ve tried many others and have always come back to CF. I’m tired of hearing the CF bashing around the internet because of slowness and unreliability of it. Adobe has the chance right now to change that. It’s a new company that CF is under now and one of the biggest. This could be the release that puts CF a head of .Net and PHP and smacks ROR. What Adobe has to do is focus on fixing what they have now and forget about trying to cram more crap and bloat into it.

I am wrong? Am I right? Am I insane?

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Patrick Whittingham said, on August 3, 2006 at 7:08 am

    I totally agree with you, since I get the same problems on our intranet site. Those who aren’t for performance, don’t know how to program.

  2. Justin said, on August 3, 2006 at 9:44 am

    You should think about switching your hosting, or request that your site be placed on a different server. It could be possible that one of the other sites in your shared environment was written inefficently causing the instability. No matter how stable an environment is, a poorly written application could bring it to it’s knees.

    Although it’s a little pricey, CrystalTech offers solid hosting. I have been with them for almost 2 years and have never experienced JRun issues.

    CF is one of the best languages!!

  3. Gert Franz said, on September 26, 2006 at 4:32 am

    Hi Tony,
    did you ever tried Railo? You can use it for free. It’s way faster than ColdFusion and it runs on every platform, including MAC.
    Just got to http://www.railo.ch and look inside…

    Gert


Leave a Reply

