Rip's Domain

Ear infections: Little health tip

Posted in Health by rip747 on December 8, 2006

Digg is running a story about health myths for kids. One the things that caught my attention was the one about colds causing ear infections.

This is something I’m an expert in since I’m cursed with ear infections all the time (thanks Dad!). Anywho, the best thing to do for these is to use rubbing alcohol.

Just take a cotton ball and apply a liberal amount of rubbing alcohol on it. Tilt your head to the side so your ear is elevated. Then sqeeze the cotton ball so that rubbing alcohol fills the ear. Usually you need about 8 – 10 drops. Let the alcohol sit in the ear for about 30 – 60 seconds. Then tilt your head the other way to drain the alcohol out and dry out the ear with toilet paper or a towel. Do this about 3 times a day.

If done on the first signs of an infection, you can usual cure it before it gets out of hand. Most of the time I can tell I’m getting one because it feels like I have water in the ear, like I just came out of a pool.

As a bonus (for all you swimmers out there), you can use this method to also remove any water you might get in your ear from swimming in a pool. I also do this whenever I go swimming in a lake or the ocean since you never know what might be lurking in the open water.

read more | digg story

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jeff Fleitz said, on December 9, 2006 at 9:25 am

    Colloidal silver works really well for this type of thing also.

  2. rip747 said, on December 13, 2006 at 11:59 am

    @Jeff

    Never heard or tried that treatment before. Have you ever used the alcohol treatment? If so I would like to know which one worked better. If I can get the colloidal silver at Walgreen’s or something I will try it out.

  3. Jeff Fleitz said, on December 14, 2006 at 10:07 pm

    My wife gets the silver at the health food store, it is a natural anti-biotic, and we take a teaspoon once a day internally if we are coming down with an infection. You can treat an ear infection the same way you would with alcohol, or take a teaspoon one/twice a day.

    I would try the alcohol for that first, as the silver is going to cost you more money.


Leave a Reply

