Rip's Domain

jQuery: Goodbye jquery.com, Hello getjquery.org?

Posted in Jquery by rip747 on December 12, 2006

EDIT:

I want to take a moment and say that the following post is IN NO WAY a hit at the jQuery developers in any way. Believe me when I say that I respect and think highly of everyone involved with bringing jQuery to web. I really wish that I could being more to the table within the community then this blog and getting the word out more.

That said, I was both shocked and extremely honored that John and Rey took the time to comment on this post. I apologize if I came off too strong, I was just venting my feeling about the spam situation. I guess spam has a tendency to get under my skin🙂.

ORIGINAL POST:
One of the things that has been annoying me for quite sometime since I’ve in utter lust with jQuery is it’s web site. I guess the thing that is really bothering me about it is the amount of vandalism and spam that gets posted there on a daily basis.

Take a sec to look at the change log for just today. There have been 5 spam tickets created, an old spam ticket was reopened and then spammed again and this is just today! Besides the spam tickets popping up at a rate I can hardly believe, someone keeps editing the Plugins page and posting spam there. This is also happening with the demos page as well.

It sucks that this keeps going on. For one it make the preconception that jQuery is a joke and can’t be taken seriously. After all who wants to use a toolkit that can’t keep it’s page spam under control. It also makes it hard to get valid bugs and change requests into the system since they get overwritten and lost because of the amount of spam.

But as with anything bad, there is a glimmering of hope. Since getjquery.org has been launched, I’ve watched it sprung up over the last couple of weeks. It’s looking really good and more and more content is being posted to it. I have a feeling that soon this will become the jQuery portal.

In the coming weeks I’m going to be posting and moving alot of the stuff from jquery.com to getjquery.org so to have a spam free environment for us.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Confused said, on December 13, 2006 at 9:23 am

    I thought it only launched a few days ago… In fact, a whois confirms it – how have you watched it grow for the last couple of months?

  2. rip747 said, on December 13, 2006 at 11:56 am

    @confused

    That was a mistake on my part. I meant to type weeks but my hands typed months and my mind read weeks😛 I corrected the post and thank you for catching this mistake.

  3. Rey Bango said, on December 13, 2006 at 4:26 pm

    Hey Tony,

    I know that John’s been working on improving the whole site in general but as is with many open source efforts, its difficult to get volunteers to help out with redoing something like an entire site. John is actually in talks with the developer of getjquery.org so I think things will be moving into a very positive direction. :o)

    Rey…

  4. John Resig said, on December 13, 2006 at 4:34 pm

    Hey Rip – Sorry about all the trouble with the bug system. It’s just as frustrating for us as it is for you. The problem is that there’s a number of custom modifications to our Trac install that’s preventing an immediate upgrade. In the meantime, I think I’m just going to add some CAPTCHAs to cut down on comment spam.

    Recently I went through and deleted all the spam tickets and fixed the status of all the bugs. Non-dev users should no longer be able to change the status of a ticket (which was a huge problem before).

    All that being said, I’m going to try and figure something out this weekend, to try and just down on all the mess.

  5. rip747 said, on December 13, 2006 at 11:08 pm

    @Rey,

    It would be an honor to help in anyway I can. I’m totally dedicated to getting jQuery more exposure.

    @John,

    With all the hard work you’re doing for us and jQuery, you don’t owe me a sorry. I’m sorry for venting like this, spam sucks. As I stated with Rey, I would love to help out in anyway I can.

  6. the dude said, on June 14, 2007 at 11:42 am

    dude it looks like the site is down ? go jquery.com!


Leave a Reply

