Rip's Domain

Urgent: Need advice from the Model-Gluers out there.

Posted in ColdFusion, Frameworks, Model-glue by rip747 on January 27, 2007

Currently I’ve been doing an on going project now for quite sometime. The problem with this like another project is that it keeps growing and it getting wacky trying to manage the different modules and updates. I’ve been thinking that it would probably take about 3 days to convert this puppy over to Model-Glue so that it will become more managable for me

So here’s my question, Is Unity usable at this point or should I just download 1.1 and use that? I would like to use Unity because of the scaffolding features and because I’m sure there are some bugs in 1.1 that Unity fixes. Is there anyone using Unity with success at this point for any projects in production? If so, what build are you using and are there any gotchas that I need to be aware of.

I’m counting down the days until Joe finally releases Unity.

NOTE: I don’t mean to shun out the other frameworks out there, but over the last 3 weeks I’ve been downloading and looking heavily at the different frameworks available for CF. After looking at 6 different ones, Model-Glue felt be the easiest to grasp and follow. This is by not means a hit at the other frameworks that I looked at, I just think that when the next person takes over this project it will be easier to jump into if it was written in Model-Glue.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Derek P. said, on January 27, 2007 at 4:08 pm

    Unity is absolutely stable. I use it in production environments on a regular basis. Its REALLY close to being final anyhow…

    I would recommend just going with Unity, that way you’ll be ahead of the curve and won’t have to upgrade your code in the (near) future.

  2. rip747 said, on January 27, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    I’m wondering what version you are using. Is it the public release (161) or the svn build?


Leave a Reply

