Rip's Domain

Todd’s right.

Posted in ColdFusion, Rants by rip747 on February 6, 2007

Todd blogged about my submission to Digg yesterday on the Smith Project commenting that Digg is worthless and childish. I couldn’t agree more with his view, it’s spot on if you ask me. Digg is full of “fanboys” that bash anything that isn’t Linux, Apple, PHP or MySQL related. Frankly I was shocked that the Smith Project submission made it to the homepage (and it’s still there).

With that said I will say that the whole reason I submitted it was to give a props to the people over at the Smith Project for all their hard work and to give the project some more exposure.

I hate Digg. I love Slashdot. Why. Just go read the comments on some stories on both Digg and Slashdot. Slashdot has more intelligent, mature commenters then Digg. I find myself going to Digg to read the stories and not comments. With Slashdot, I find myself reading the comments and not caring about the stories themselves.

That being said, I know how to play the game. Digg has surpassed Slashdot in terms of page views and members and it’s a lot easier to manipulate and coax the less intelligent fanboys on Digg then on Slashdot.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Derek P. said, on February 6, 2007 at 1:39 pm

    Maybe its just me but I really thought that most of the comments were rather constructive (except for the obvious omg RoR mannn)…It sounded like there was a lot of people who were impressed with where coldfusion is going.

  2. todd sharp said, on February 6, 2007 at 10:53 pm

    Thanks dude. I knew the intent of your post and applaud what you did – it’s Digg that pissed me off not you. I don’t check out slashdot too often, but maybe I should.


Leave a Reply

