Rip's Domain

Digg: 1 Miiiiiillion Users – I say Bullsh*t

Posted in Rants by rip747 on March 7, 2007

It’s now been more than two years since the first story was submitted and dugg on Digg. Since then you guys have helped Digg move from a personal project amongst a group of friends to a huge online community. Now, your contributions in submitting, digging, and commenting on content have propelled Digg to a point I never dreamed of – as of today Digg has one million registered users.

Let me not be the first by saying that I think that this is a completely over inflated number. I would bet that if you take a look at the number of user that user Digg on a regularly monthly basis, that that number is really around 20K or less.

I believe that Digg is trying to make themselves look bigger than they are for an investor or buy out.

If you really think about it, how many times have you signed up for a Digg account just to digg a story that one of your friends posted and to never return? I know this sort of thing happened when i submitted the story of the Smith Project going open source. Just read the comments for the post, they say it right there.

Don’t get me wrong, I love Digg and wish them all the best. But I think that Kevin and team need to scrub their database every once in awhile.

read more | digg story

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. pan69 said, on March 7, 2007 at 6:35 pm

    Yep, I’m with you. I think it should actually be phrased more correctly like: “We have a potential 1 million users”.

  2. Stephen Cassady said, on March 7, 2007 at 6:59 pm

    It should say “we now have a potential list of pro-tech email address that you could buy our company and spam to”.

    The list of registered emails is alwyas a fun number to shout. The real metrics real focus on number of active users in certian periods of time (1,7 30, 90) days, average half-life and full life of an account, and frequency of actions.

    They know just as well as we do that 1mm is BS. But the Other Numbers just aren’t as sexy.

    (Sorry Other Numbers. I’ll buy you a drink and do cuddles later, wispering sweet nothings to make you feel better).

  3. Vlado said, on March 12, 2007 at 5:08 am

    I’ll register to digg this🙂


Leave a Reply

