Rip's Domain

Carbonite saved my ass. Damn you Dell!

Posted in Rants by rip747 on March 9, 2007

My computer died last night. This happened to my brother about 6 months ago. Kinda weird that I had the same thing happen to me. My guess is that there must be something wrong with the harddrives that they are puttting in Dell computers nowadays. I always thought that Seagate Barracuda drives were top notch, but I guess I was wrong.

Anywho, the thing is that about the time that my brother’s computer went down hill, I started to notice some ads on the internet for Carbonite backup. For those that don’t know, you pay $5 a month for unlimited backups over the internet. To me it seemed like a no brainer at the time, so I signed up. I’m one of those idiots that doesn’t have the time to set up a proper backup solution, so this thing fit the bill.

Who knew that that moment I was actually doing something right for once.

So last night I’m watching pron programming and I noticed that Eclipse was really really slow. It took 4 minutes to close a file I was working on. So I just chalked it up to Eclipse acting like itself. Not more then 5 minutes later the whole machine started to become really unresponsive. I though to myself that something had to be wrong with the drive as I could hear it thrashing. I managed to somehow tell Windows to run a chkdsk on the next startup and was able to shutdown the system properly.

Low and behold, on the next reboot chkdsk does it’s thing….. it starts to find bad clusters…. fixes them and moves on…. it hungs for 30 minutes checking file integrity at 11%…. I’m screwed. At this point I couldn’t do anything but just shut the machine down (it was 4:30 am by now) and just go to bed and deal with it when I got home from work.

Right after work, I went to CompUSA and bought a new drive and got my trusty old XP reinstall CD and reinstalled XP. Once I got XP up and running I got on the internet and went to the Carbonite’s site and logged in. I told it that I needed to restore my files and downloaded the application. After installing it, it started to restore my files. I’m happy to say that the restore is going great. It just got done restoring my outlook.pst so I now have all my emails from Wednesday.

Thank GOD this service worked as promised. I would have shot myself if it didn’t. Thank you Carbonite….. fuck you Dell.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] read more | digg story Posted by rip747 Filed in Uncategorized […]

  2. John W said, on March 9, 2007 at 11:52 am

    Carbonite is the ROXOR!! I am so bummed they dropped the ball on mac love😦

  3. Hans Klein said, on March 16, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    Me too, dude. I had almost the exact same experience with my dell. Unfortunately I didn’t have a backup. Thanks for the tip on Carbonite. I installed it yesterday. It’s pretty darned simple. If it really works, it’s sure worth the money.

  4. rip747 said, on March 16, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    @hans

    That sucks. I’m glad though that you installed Carbonite. For $5 a month, you can’t beat it. I’m wondering if there will be a lawsuit on Dell because of all these drives going bad. It can’t be just coincidence.

  5. framemaker hacker said, on April 2, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    Carbonite… Looks great. I just started using it myself. The chief downside is the slow restore time. They could probably charge $20 for full-throttle downloads at restore time…

  6. rip747 said, on April 3, 2007 at 8:34 am

    @framemaker

    I agree. I really wish they could make the restores at full speed. With a 12meg connection and a backup of 3.5 gig, it should take less than an hour to restore my computer.

  7. […] I’m at only 1 GIG. I’ve only had this machine for since Oct 2004 and already had to replace the harddrive (which took 5 days to get everything up and running) and now I have to buy RAM. At 1 GIG I’m […]


Leave a Reply

