Rip's Domain

Damn you Dell!!!! Once again.

Posted in Rants, TechSupport by rip747 on May 10, 2007

I can’t believe this sh*t! I’m never buying a Dell computer again, period, the end, my next computer will be an HP.

There I am last night, sitting at my machine, getting ready to get some much needed work done. Before I was about to start, I saw that there was about 14 updates to XP and about 7 for my WIN2003 VS. I decided to install the updates before starting my work since I can’t stand that annoying message coming up every 5 minutes reminding me to do so.

I install the updates and shutdown the machine. Count to 10 and turn it back on. During POST I get two memory errors, but the machine boots into XP. I check the available memory and now this is where I’m f*cked, I’m at only 1 GIG. I’ve only had this machine for since Oct 2004 and already had to replace the harddrive (which took 5 days to get everything up and running) and now I have to buy RAM. At 1 GIG I’m unable to boot my WIN2003 VS which is my development environment, so I can’t do any work.

The only light at the end of the tunnel is that my friend Greg (with iConsultu) should be able to get me the RAM today and at the current price of about $80 a GIG, I’ve decided to say screw it (also since it’s a write off) and buy 4 GIGs to top out the machine. With that much memory I’ll be able to install another VS and have a Ubuntu VS to play with.

So in closing, I would like say a big thanks to Dell for making my life a living Hell! Thanks for allowing me to not get my work done last night and causing more headaches then I need. My next write off will be an HP computer.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Russ Johnson said, on May 10, 2007 at 1:24 pm

    Save yourself even more trouble and just make your next write-off an Intel Mac, then you can run your dev environment in Parallels and you will never have to worry about inferior computers keeping you from doing your work.

    I made that switch from Dell late last year and I have never looked back, in fact. I have replaced all 4 of my families PC’s with either Mac Minis or iMacs..

  2. rip747 said, on May 10, 2007 at 2:20 pm

    @russ

    Nahhh, despite what people say, I looooooooove XP and can’t stand Macs. I use them all the time at work and literally want to shoot myself every time the second I sit in front of it. The only thing that will ever get me to switch from XP is if IBM got off their ass and updated OS/2, but that will never happen. I know I can go purchase Ecomstation but still it isn’t the same.

    OS/2 rulz!!!!

    I guess that’s why I like the NT platform so much. There still a little bit of the spirit of OS/2 living in there somewhere. (sheds a tear)

  3. Charles (The Brother) said, on May 10, 2007 at 5:17 pm

    Tony, you are an idiot. Instead of buying a Dell or HP, make your next computer the classic Apple IIe. Ah yes, remember the days of pixelated screens and interchangable floppy disks.


Leave a Reply

