Rip's Domain

ICEGen: DAO and CRUD generator for ColdFusion and MSSQL databases… so far.

Posted in ColdFusion, ICEGen by rip747 on May 18, 2007

UPDATE: You can now download the project from RIAForge.

This is a project that I have been working on the for the past week during my very limited spare time.

Basically ICEGen is a code generator (like we need another) the will currently generate DAO and CRUD methods for MSSQL database. More database and templates will be added very soon.

Running ICEGen is easy since it doesn’t require that it be in the off the webroot. Just unzip and drop it into a director. First open up the index.cfm file and change {dsnname} to your MSSQL DSN that you want to generate code for (I will create an HTML interface for it soon). Then just open the page in a browser and that’s it.

It will store your project under the projects folder in a directory called {DSNNAME}_{DATABASE TYPE}. You will have manually copy the generated directories for now, but I will be added a save to folder feature soon. You do not need to copy the XML files that in the project root since ICEGen only uses them.

If you want to alias a table or column, first run the generator so that it will generate the XML files for your dsn. Then open up the file _Aliases.xml and put the alias you want for a table or column in it’s alias attribute.

This is a very alpha since I want to get feed back from people with not only finding bugs but also with the way I’m doing the code generation and the crud methods. So please be blunt.

I already tried to setup a Google Code page for the project by someone already had ICEGen as a project, so I have to wait for their approval. If that doesn’t happen in the next week, maybe I can host it at RIAForge.

I want to personally thank the Reactor Team since the database abstraction classes really helped me in creating this. Also I want to thank Brian Rinaldi of Remote Synthesis for his Illudium PU-36 Code Generator which also helped me in getting this thing written

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dan Wilson said, on May 21, 2007 at 9:10 am

    Can you touch on how your generator is different from the Illudium PU-36 Code Generator?

    DW

  2. rip747 said, on May 21, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    Well for one thing PU36 is a maturer project than mine is. I only started it last week.

    First the last time I checked PU36 could one generate templates for one table at a time, I don’t know if this has changed or not. Plus PU36 uses flex as a frontend, which is really cool. PU36 also generates a lot more templates then just CRUD operations.

    Really my project, for now, is just a dao and crud generator. I’ve written a HTML frontend to it, but it really doesn’t need one. I’ll be adding more stuff over this week.

    What I’m really aiming for is something that will do DAO and crud without all the other things like, TO and gateways since I really have no idea what the benefits of those thnings are.

    I really just want something that I could point at a datasource and within seconds generate all the template that I needed. Plus I’m experimenting with a pretty cool way to handle defaults and aliases. I be realeasing another updated version tonight, one that acutally works, since the one up there right now has a lot of bugs.

  3. Joshua said, on September 5, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    Any tips on best methods to getting started using it?
    I’ve already generated my cfc’s but what are your recommendations on best practices in using it in your code?

    Example, you have a New Record form as well as options to Edit a record with that same form with the ID in the URL. How do you advise approaching this situation with using your cfc’s?

    Let me know if you don’t mind!

    Thanks!

  4. rip747 said, on September 7, 2007 at 9:32 am

    do me a favor, send me that code to my email address above. I really need to get back on the ball with this project, I’m just having a very difficult time trying to find the time to work on it again.


Leave a Reply

