Rip's Domain

Frets on Fire: The answer to my Guitar Hero addiction!

Posted in Uncategorized by rip747 on June 29, 2007

fretsonfire logo

A while ago, I blogged about my obsession with Guitar Hero (GH). I really just can’t get enough of that game, but the lack of owning an XBOX 360 has hindered my playing to about once a month when I go over to my friend’s house.

I’ve been wanting to go out and purchase my own XBOX 360, but the fact that I’m constantly hearing horror stories about the “red ring of death” is scaring me off. What am I suppose to do at this point?!? I need something to cure my addiction while Microsoft works out the kinks (if they ever do work them out). My only alternative was to find another way to play GH without having to get an XBOX 360 for the moment.

This is when my geekiness kicked in: “Hey dumbass…. you’re probably not the only one wanting to play GH. How much you want to bet someone has created an open source clone.” God I love it when I have these moments! With that I quickly Googled “guitar hero clones” and found the answer: Frets on Fire!

If you’ve never heard of Frets on Fire (FOF), allow me to tell you about it. It’s a GH clone written in Python by some really creative people. You use you keyboard to play by holding it upside-down and mimicking a guitar. Just like GH, you pick a song to play and you strum along when the little blocks tell you to.

Some of really nice features of FOF is that you can import songs from GH directly into it (in the spirit of the internet there is a torrent available on thePirateBay for the songs). You can also hook up a GH guitar and use that if you don’t want to use your keyboard (although using the keyboard isn’t all that bad, it just looks dumb). There is also a tutorial that show you how to play the game for the first time and how to hold the keyboard correctly.

To add props to the game, I will say that it look extremely professional. I personally think that it look better then GH itself and you can tell that the developers really took their time with the interface. The songs that come with the game are really good and as I’m typing this I still have Bang Bang, Mystery Man in my head.

To say the least I was up until 3 a.m. this morning with my wife playing this thing and I’m just counting down the hours until I can get out of work. I can’t wait to get out of here so I can go purchase the GH guitar and hook it up!

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mike said, on November 23, 2007 at 3:02 am

    u are so right! I love FOF! It all started when my bro brought over GH2. I didnt want to buy a 360, so I googled Free guitar hero clones. Sure enough, I stumbled across FOF. And yes, it is definitely better than GH BY ALL MEANS! FOF ROX!!!😄

  2. Marvin said, on January 19, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    I have been playing this game for ages. I also am desinging some mods for the Mac version.

    Top Marks!

    (I’d mod it before seriously getting into it🙂 just a tip ;))

  3. Robin said, on January 25, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    Hi. As you say “You can also hook up a GH guitar and use that if you don’t want to use your keyboard” Plz help me to do that. really want to use my guitar to fof🙂

  4. rip747 said, on January 25, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    @Robin,

    click the link “hook up a GH guitar” in the post. It takes you to the drivers you need to do this.

  5. Andrew said, on August 11, 2008 at 8:38 am

    The ps3 wireless guitar works with FOF as well, just some small button assigning and it’s superb! outstanding software.

  6. Marc B said, on September 6, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    I have a HYBRID VERSION OF “FRETS ON FIRE”. It is the Guitar Hero 3 Clone with all sorts of extras & It has at the minimun 150 songs. I am using a wireless PS3 Black Axe on my ACER LAPTOP🙂 Works great!

  7. Juan said, on October 26, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    Yeah, I got an 360 guitar usb controller and play the Alarian mod of FOF in my lap, not even the Guitar Hero songs, but Rockband 1 and 2, and my favorite is My Sharona…


Leave a Reply

