Rip's Domain

Halloween was damn good. Don’t believe the bashing!

Posted in Halloween, movies by rip747 on August 31, 2007

Last night I got the chance to see Halloween at a sneak preview.

Going into the movie, I had already read a bunch of reviews and negative comments about the movie. Needless to say I was entering the theater in a rather dismal state of mind. I had been so forward looking to see this movie since it was first announced and unlike most people, I believe in Rob Zombie’s directorial abilities. My only thoughts were that if anyone could remake one of my favorite movies and remake it well, it would be Zombie.

The theater was packed and from the mood I got amongst the crowd, people were hyped up about seeing the film. Maybe they hadn’t been checking out all the reviews coming out on the net or maybe they just didn’t care what people were saying; maybe they just wanted to judge for themselves. Lights dim, time to go to Haddonfield.

I really don’t want to go into all the details about the movie since I’m not one to ruin it for the people who haven’t seen it yet. Let’s just say that whatever negative reviews you’re reading about the film I think are directed more towards Rob Zombie then the movie itself. What I mean by that is that some people think that Zombie shouldn’t of remade the movie in the first place and no matter how good of a movie Zombie put out, these people would bash it regardless.

Halloween is damn good, better than the original. Zombie did a better job then Carpenter did with character of Michael Myers and I know that the series will continue in a better direction than the crap sequels that have been pumped out from the original.

What you’ve heard is all true about the time line of the movie.

The first half totally focuses on Michael’s youth and the abuse and actions that causes him to snap. The abusive mommy’s boyfriend, the older sister that just doesn’t want anything to do with him, the bullying taking place in school and the rage building inside. While a lot of people have the opinion that this sort of background isn’t necessary for the Michael Myers character, I think that Zombie had the right idea about delving into Michael’s past.

The middle part is about Michael’s stay in the sanitarium after his conviction. I’ve been hearing that this was the part that most people liked and that they wished that Zombie would have lengthen this part more. I’ll tell you that the length Zombie committed to this part of the movie was right on target. I don’t think that spending 30 more minutes of the movie in an insane asylum would have added anything to it. At this point we know Michael is totally messed in the head and is slowly retreating from reality into his own little world.

The finally part is the escape and murders, truly what everyone was waiting for. Most reviews online considered this portion of the film rushed. While I was watching the movie I was focusing a lot of my attention on what exactly Zombie did to make most reviewers feel this. Truthfully I couldn’t find anything, again I think that the original fans are just finding anything they can say to bash the film.

If you’ve been thinking about not seeing the film because of the reviews being put out online, I’m here to tell you that you’re going to miss a wild ride. I think that in the coming years people will actually start to admit that Zombie did a way better job then Carperter did, just like Zack Synder’s remake of Dawn of the Dead is considered superior to the original that Romero did. Just because someone did it first, doesn’t mean that they did it right.

If you haven’t seen the film, don’t read past this part

The only flaw that I saw in the film was this plot hole: How did Michael know where Laurie was living now and who see was? He’d hadn’t seen her for around 17 years yet knew everything about her.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dustin said, on August 31, 2007 at 9:29 am

    i agree ive only seen the workprint but i thought it was really good and i liked it better than the original im thinking about going to see the final version i dont know why people are bashing zombie i think he is a great director i saw his first 2 films house of 1000 corpses and devils rejects so far he has done 3 really good movies in a row


Leave a Reply

