Rip's Domain

Grassroots behavior is hurting Ron Paul.

Posted in 2008 Elections, Ron Paul by rip747 on January 9, 2008

Posted to the Ron Paul forums. Click here to view the thread.

This morning while driving into work, I was able to get on the radio (610 AM WIOD) and say a few words about Ron Paul and the supporters.

I want to make this very clear that while I support Ron Paul, I think that the number one reason people are not taking him seriously and calling him nuts is the behavior of the grassroots.

A guy before said that during an interview or something last night, (can’t remember what he exactly said) that there were Ron Paul supporters that can be seen through the window behind the conducting the segment holding up signs and shouting. Worst yet was that you could hear the supporters through the window and it basically interrupted the segment.

It’s behavior like this that is causing people to disassociate themselves from Ron Paul. It behavior like this that is causing the media to ignore him. Who wants to cover a rally or interview supporters that are acting like children. People need to realize that their behavior reflects Ron Paul and they need to act professionally and maturely.

Another thing I mentioned was the ignorant way the grassroots are spending the money that they are raising. Myself and others find it extremely disturbing that the grassroots raised more than $250K and wasted it on the blimp. That action right there pretty much proved how juvenile Ron Paul supporters are.

The money that was raised for the blimp would have done 100 fold more for the NH campaign had it been spent promoting Ron Paul on the radio and TV. I have yet to hear an ad in my area for Ron Paul sponsored by his supporters. This needs to happen and it needs to start now since the Florida Primary is only a couple of weeks away. I whole heartedly believe that if the money raised for the blimp was used correctly, Ron Paul would have had a much higher percentage in NH then 8%.

The grassroots need to wake up. Our support for Ron Paul is unlike anything else, but we need to find better outlets in expressing it. We also need to stop wasting the money we raise on ignorant marketing tactics and start marketing correctly.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bryce Martin said, on January 21, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    Just wondering…did you delete the other post? I was looking for a reply, but I can’t find it…

  2. rip747 said, on January 21, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    Yes I did.

    After our exchange, I though about it and you are right, I fall on my sword. Though this is my blog, anyone can read it. A lot of Ron Paul supporters are visiting it and I do need to tone it down when writing posts that the supporters will read.

    I’ll admit when I’m wrong and yes, I was wrong.

  3. Bryce Martin said, on January 21, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    You are a big man. Takes guts. The best of luck with your support for Ron Paul. I think he would do a fine job as president. I may not line up with him 100% but he is definitely better than most of the alternatives. Nice blog. You have a lot of good stuff on here, not just political, but technical as well. I was looking around at some jQuery stuff and stumbled upon this.

    Have a good day.


Leave a Reply

