Rip's Domain

ICEGen not being released. Project discontinued.

Posted in ICEGen by rip747 on March 31, 2008

I’ve come to terms that ICEGen just isn’t what I want it to be after all this time. What I really want to write is something very similar to ActiveRecord or Datamapper for ColdFusion.

When CF8 was released I was really excited since it looked like my dream would finally come true with CFCOMPONENT now supporting OnMissingMethod and implicit creation for structures and arrays. OnMissingMethod works like a champ, but we all know though that implicit creation is broken and doesn’t look like it’s getting fixed anytime soon (Ben had a post saying that it would be fixed soon but we haven’t heard anything and he didn’t respond to my last post on the matter).

Because of this, I basically decided to continue development with the old code of ICEGen. After working on it for the last month I managed to get all the bugs out and it works really well. Thing is though this isn’t the project I’ve envisioned it to be, and I’m having a hard time coming to terms with that it. It’s actually kind of sad when I really sit down to look at it.

So rather then continuing to work and support a project that I can’t stand, I’ve decided to let it die. Hopefully once the implicit creation bugs get worked out, I’ll finally be able to create the ORM that I want. Sorry for anyone who wanted to see 2.0 get release, but it’s not happening.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tony Garcia said, on April 16, 2008 at 8:53 am

    What do you think of the improvements to implicit struct/array creation in the CF 8.0.1 update?


Leave a Reply

