Rip's Domain

Help!!! git on cygwin not working

Posted in Uncategorized by rip747 on June 24, 2008

Is there anyone out there that has instructions on how to get git working under cygwin?

I’ve downloaded cygwin and followed the instructions for installing git from the official page.

Everything looks great, but when I try to execute any git commands… nothing happens!?! Even a simple “git –version” returns nothing. I’m at a lost on what could possibly be wrong.

I’ve even tried uninstalling and reinstalling and even installed on a different machine and still the same thing. Is there something special I should be doing after the cygwin install?

Tagged with:

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mike H said, on June 24, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    I am having the same problem. I have a feeling it has to do with the new 1.5.6 release, but I’m not sure, and I haven’t been able to figure it out yet. Any luck?

  2. rip747 said, on June 24, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    actually when installing cygwin, if you click on the git option a couple of times, it will give you the option of installing the 1.5.5 version. I tried installing that and got the same problem.

  3. Jakub Narebski said, on June 24, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    You can ask this question on #git IRC channel on FreeNode, on git mailing list git@vger.kernel.org (please mark that you are not subscribed if you are not subscribed), or git-users Google Group.

  4. David L said, on November 8, 2008 at 3:37 am

    i just ran into this…

    after running “strace git”, an error message popped up saying “cygcurl-4.dll” wasn’t in cygwin/bin… so I installed the “curl” package from the cygwin setup and it worked

  5. Mladen said, on December 1, 2009 at 9:20 am

    I had the same problem.

    In my case the problem was with zlib package. I had zlib 1.2.3.3 installed. strace reported that cygz.dll was missing. This package has no cygz.dll. Previous version of zlib 1.2.3.2 has it.

    After downgrading zlib package git 1.6.1.2 works again!!!!

  6. Naren said, on December 9, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    I had the same problem.

    Thanks to David, I could strace and figure out missing dll’s and reinstalled them.

  7. frabii said, on December 18, 2014 at 6:11 pm

    Loverly it is 6 years latr and the problem persists.


Leave a Reply

