Rip's Domain

Getting Git-SVN to work under Cygwin

Posted in Cygwin, Git, TechSupport by rip747 on September 4, 2008

This has taken me DAYS to get working and finally i got it. Here are the steps:

Download the Cgywin setup.exe from the Cygwin site.

Next is to READ AND FOLLOW the instructions for setting up Git during the install. The instruction are at the bottom of the page entitled “Install Cygwin”.

After the installation you will need to run “ash rebaseall” from the cygwin\bin directory in a command line in order to update Git-SVN. So open a command prompt (START -> RUN -> CMD) and type in cd\cygwin\bin (or whatever your cygwin installation folder is) and run “ash rebaseall”.

Hopefully this help someone out there

Tagged with:

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. kajinski said, on October 6, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    I’ve installed git from source, exactly as described in the wiki link above, and I’ve even done the ash rebaseall step. git is installed and works, but there is no git-svn command?? I get >git-svn: command not found

    anyone else having this issue??

  2. Kevin Butler said, on October 7, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    I had git-svn in /usr/sbin/git-core, but rather than running it directly or adding git-core to my path, I chose to run “git svn” using the /bin/git wrapper.

    More details and issues I encountered:

    http://soi.kd6.us/2008/10/07/so-i-installed-git-and-git-svn-on-cygwin/

    kb


Leave a comment