Rip's Domain

SQL Server 2005 sucks so far.

Posted in Rants, SQL by rip747 on September 26, 2007

I finally had to take the plunge into SQL Server 2005 since HostMySite only offers 2005 and not 2000 on their VPS plans. Needless to say I’ve heard nothing good about 2005. I’ve talked to countless DBAs telling me that it’s dog slow and EXTREMELY clunky to use. Well I’ve come to the conclusion that they are right.

Mind you I’m just now getting into it, but already I found 2 gotcha.

First off the Script Generator sucks. The interface is so horrible, I feel like I’m programming in Visual Basic with the way you have to choose your options. Not to mention that thing is SLOOOOOOW. It took 3 times as long to generate scripts for my database as Enterprise Manager did. The big kick in the nuts is that it doesn’t write the script correctly! The old 2000 script generator would write the scripts for the tables first and then the scripts for all your views next. Not 2005’s, it intermingled the tables and views scripts so if a view has a table in it that hasn’t been created yet… it FAILS!!! Is that fucking stupid or what!?! The only way around this is to generate and run the scripts for your tables first and then generate and run the scripts for your views. Great, so not only do I have to wait longer, I have to do double the work as well. Thanks Bill!

Second thing I found was another speed issue. I don’t know how many of you have ever used the import / export wizard in Enterprise Manager; I use to use it all the time and it was a life saver. Well needless to say now in 2005 the import / export process takes a loooooooooooooong time…… I’m talking long like the Nile, like line at Domino’s in a fat camp, long like John Holmes! I couldn’t believe something that use to take 30 seconds before took 10 minutes. Thank God I only have to do that once in a while.

My other gripe is the Management Studio in general. Why Microsoft now feels that everything should look like Visual Studio is beyond me. Enterprise Manager (though ugly as hell) was very clean and uncluttered, compare to Management Studio which looks really slick but a total mess when it come to finding things.

I guess I just need sometime to figure everything out. I’m sure I’ll find other quirky things along the way in my journey and if I do I’ll post them.

UPDATE: I was about to rip Angus (see comments below) a new one when it kinda dawned on me that I never checked what service level SQL Server 2005 was on. I guess I just assumed that it would be at the latest level since it’s a VPS and HostMySite applies the upgrades to the VPS. Well let me fall on my sword by saying that I checked late last night and I was wrong. SQL Server was at SP1 not SP2. I tried installing SP2 and it wouldn’t let me, so now I have a ticket opened with HostMySite to see if I can get it updated to SP2. I’ll post something about my new experience with SQL Server 2005 once SP2 is installed.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jesse said, on September 27, 2007 at 5:15 pm

    here’s a useful app I wrote to for the generation of scripts that you may find useful.

    it’s a console app so it’s easily automatable. also generates a separate file for each object, useful for getting your objects into source control if they aren’t already.

    here it is: http://www.codeplex.com/scriptdb

  2. Angus Mclaren said, on September 27, 2007 at 10:49 pm

    Have you even bothered to apply the fucking service packs to it yet? (yes – everything MS release need several sp’s to work properly)

  3. […] had a problem doing it before. Normally I just run the I generate the scripts first (see my other blog post about the workaround for this with 2005) and then after creating the database on the new server, I […]

  4. willy said, on March 27, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    Sql 2005 is better than 2000, if you don’t know how use it, then don’t post anything.
    You suck.

  5. kalyson said, on November 11, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    That Angus Mclaren’s comment is seen as acceptable is indicative of a real problem.
    Does it ever occur to any of these MicroSlop acolytes that it is a very bad thing that MicroSquish releases Beta’s as production versions and that customers are expected to just suck it up? And pay way more than the garbage is worth?
    You’d be better off using open source.

  6. nk said, on January 9, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    The new management concole is not easier on the eyes. When you have a shizzle load of tables and sps and need to get around fast, it’s definitely not a time saving design. Add to that you can’t add a data in a new row in the results view if you have a filter on the query. And bit values are displayed in ‘True’ ‘False’ and not 0 or 1 and you can’t insert 0 or 1 in results view and have it convert. You have to type the full word. I’m using RTM and waiting for my net manager to install SP3. Not sure if that will fix it. DTS bites. And having to have a floating window open for replication monitor sucks. I think with all upgrades, generally you expect to be impressed and happy overall immediately with the upgrade. Not in this case.

  7. Jeffrey Smith said, on January 28, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    Yes it sucks! Just like Visual Studio sucks! Microsoft is bent on making all the applications so complex that those who like to diversify in multiple platforms and applications will be railroaded out by the hard core code fanatics spend every waking minute geeking out in the “studio” environments. SSIS has quadrupled the development time formerly spent doing things in DTS and I don’t buy the explainations behind the Import/Export Wizard reduced functionality in 2005. Tell me in real speak why I can’t have the option to copy objects and data (without losing indexes, identity and default values) or how exactly they screwed up the Drop and Recreate function. And why can’t I have a time value in the created column of the object explorer window when I view the tables of a database. If I run twice on the same day a stored proc that drops and recreates the table I can no longer look at the tables veiw and tell if it worked. At a time when the economy is tanking Microsoft wants me to spend more time on projects that customers are already concerned about paying for. Just like Visual Studio where they added multiple steps what used to be simple tasks. Why do I have to hunt down the code behind page and go through locating and rebuilding the latest dll just to change the color of a background on a cell in a dynamic built table? If this is the future they have the wrong folks at the design table.

  8. Kupa said, on October 12, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    Fucking, shity SQL Server 2005, fucking trying to install it and run game server on it, and it got fucking loads of shity errors. WTF


Leave a Reply

